Any advice on running a charity golf outing?

myndcraft

#TheGauntlet 2015 Champs
Reaction score
Handicap
Driving
Something most of you don't know about me is my big passion outside of golf is Cigars. So much so that I serve as one of the Illinois Amabassadors for Cigar Rights of America and, more importantly to this post, as the Technology Director for Operation: Cigars For Warriors.

I wont go into detail much other than to say we're a 501(c)3 Non-Profit and if you want to find out more please check out our website and Facebook pages.

Anyways on the purpose of this post. I thought it would be great to run a golf outing to help raise money for CFW. Unfortunately I have no experience in doing anything like this and was hoping people could drop some wisdom on me.

Thanks!

Most of the courses in my area can take care of all that. Just call around and ask for someone who handles events. They would take care of most of the operations, so all you have to worry about is getting people to show up.

From my experiences:
If your goal is to raise money, you'll have to rely on sponsors vs directly from the golfers. We have a few levels of sponsorship, each offering a more prominent placement of the sponsors name, embroidered flag, etc.
Include the cost of on-course games (closest to pin, long drive, etc) in the entry fee vs collecting on the course.
Form committees and delegate.
Keep a budget. If you are going to give prize money for contests or top teams, keep it on the lighter side.
Don't procastinate

You may want to consider contacting Cantigny, I know they actively support our Service Members. (Honor Club) I think that might make it a good fit. I recently played in an outing there and they did a great job of putting it on.

http://www.cantignygolf.com/golfcourse/specials.aspx

Call a couple course that you'd be interested in holding it at and find out cost per player, dinner/lunch cost and beverage costs. They should have a package or several packages.