Selling Insurance

Franklin51

On the Verge
Reaction score
Handicap
Anybody do that for a living? The Aflac rep has offered my wife a commission job and I'm just not sure.

I do it. First few years are tough but as you get renewals (PC), it gets better. Life commissions are mostly in just the first year. Each year after ain't much. I am working at the golf course my wife manages to supplement the income from insurance. The free golf doesn't hurt.

Helps a lot if the second person in the marriage/partnership has a good enough job to help get through the first few years.

I don't sell insurance but I work in the insurance field and I will say that it will take time generating a serious income month to month at first (first couple years). She would need to build a customer base and that can be difficult if you count on a second income. I have worked with reps directly (MetLife financial) that make upwards from 150-350k+ a year so it's possible to make the money (they've been in the business 15-20 years). I had a chance to be junior partner with a financial rep who made that much but that time in my life I couldn't do it. It will be a grind at first but if your wife is new to it but there is the potential of decent earnings in the end.

I sell property and casualty. Do your research on AFLAC, I looked into it and it didn't seem very appealing.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

One thing I read about AFLAC is there are no territories. It seemed to cut throat for me to risk. I do think if you can carry the load while she gets going it could work for you guys.

One thing I read about AFLAC is there are no territories. It seemed to cut throat for me to risk. I do think if you can carry the load while she gets going it could work for you guys.

That's what worries me. Months not knowing if she will get paid or not. Plus I'm not sure how much outa pocket the startup be