Seeing yourself swing

Esox

Reaction score
Handicap
J.L.'s future high school coach was running an after school clinic this week for the middle school kids. It's taking place at a really nice range. I've been playing pretty poorly so after Mrs. Esox and I dropped her off, I decided to hit some balls.

I've played 27 holes of scramble golf with the pro at my new club over the last two weeks, and he's made a couple comments regarding my seeming inability to hit a mid to long iron. I decided I wanted to see what he was talking about, so i had Mrs. Esox shoot some video of me hitting a variety of iron shots and a hybrid. The card on the camera got full before I could swing a driver.

I've been playing golf for 37 years, and I have never, and I mean never, seen myself swing. I've seen pictures of myself in various positions throughout the swing, but never a video.

It was interesting, and explained a lot. There's some good stuff going on, but there's one thing in particular I need to work on. If I could make this change I think it would allow me to really put up some low scores on a consistent basis, and get back to hitting the ball a long way. Like the youngsters do. I started working on it today.

How many of you video or have someone video your swing? I'm not necessarily talking about a professional lesson, but just a little self evaluation.

Kevin

I've video'd my swing a couple of times about a year ago...as it turns out, I'm clueless when looking at it, and my swing looked a lot uglier than I thought!

I fixed my swing since then, but still...your swing never looks how it feels, that's for sure!

Great timing Esox. I broke out the video today and taped mine. I was going to post it on here, but no way, lol. I actually went to Youtube and brought up "Ugly Golf Swing", mine were worst.

i video/review my swing once a month. just make sure that the club's in a good position on the backswing. i have a bad habit of taking the club back to the inside.