Dave Pelz's Short Game Bible

What's unorthodox about it? It's a pitching swing.

Dead hands and arms, completely tension free, simply let them drop. Opening your front foot to the target. Always aligning both feet parallel to the target line regardless of club. 7:00 swing. Swinging further on follow through than back swing. Equal weight on feet.

I'm no expert on orthodox. I've barely had a single lesson. These are just a few things amongst many that messed me up last year. In general I would say that always practicing short game without solid full swing mechanics will mess up your full swing, that can in turn, mess up your short game as well.

I guess I've never had correlated the two. In my experience, a shorter swing is easier to learn and easier to replicate on the course. I didn't spend a ton of time scrutinizing every bit of mechanics though.

I suppose by literal definition everything outside the traditional method is unorthodox, and many/most traditional methods are still unorthodox to us individually because our bodies don't make those "normal" moves naturally. Practice is required to engrain the moves.

I was lucky enough to attend a Dave Pelz Short Game school today with Sox Fan, Ole Gray, and Dawgdaddy. I've played around with parts of the book but having a great instructor (Ty Waldron at Chateau Elan) actually demonstrate and work with you makes it so much easier. It was very interesting. The chipping technique is so easy and seems like a no-brainer for consistency. The pitching will take a lot more practice before I consistently get it. We also worked a couple hours on putting. So grateful to Sox Fan for sharing his win (4 spots to the class) with us! I'm very excited about what I learned and will be practicing diligently to get it down.