I Started Playing Golf Because _____

The company I work for has a lot of people that golf and do a lot of golf outings. I got serious about it when at every golf tourney my CEO would harass me about how much I sucked. Well 5+ years later I no longer "suck" and probably could beat my boss without thinking twice.

About 50 years ago my Dad said, "Get your a$$ out of bed, we are golfing today!" He took me to Forest Park golf course in Queens NY. Some classic comments from Dad that day include: Beer is a requirement for good golf and We all suck when we start playing golf, but son, you really suck!

About 50 years ago my Dad said, "Get your a$$ out of bed, we are golfing today!" He took me to Forest Park golf course in Queens NY. Some classic comments from Dad that day include: Beer is a requirement for good golf and We all suck when we start playing golf, but son, you really suck!

"Does that mean I can have a beer then Dad?"

My friends invited me one day. We got good and drunk, and had fun. I figured it was a portent of fun to come. I was wrong.

My dad used to let us chip the balls around the yard with his PW. That's what got me started.

I started playing because my best friend asked me to. In The Netherlands you need a licence to play golf. He asked me to do it together, as it made him feel more comfortable to go and do it. We both got our licences. I was hooked. He quit a few months after. That was 7 years ago.