Started playing about a year ago after my father in law took me out to play one day. I had just finished playing college basketball and was looking for something competitive. Now I am a full blown golf junkie and can't believe I didn't start playing earlier in life (28 when I started).

how did you get in to golf?

how did you get in to golf?

come on peeps what made you try and play golf?

Friends for fun, and as a networking tool in the business world.

When I was little (6-7 yrs. old) my grandparents started taking me with them. They were members at the local muni. and played 9 holes in the morning after the early crowd, went home for lunch (only about 4 miles) and then went back for 9 in the afternoon before the after work crowd. Whenever I stayed with them I went along. They taught me the rules and etiquette of the game as I grew up and my grandfather showed me what he knew (self-taught). When I was a teenager they offered to get me lessons, but I was too busy playing basketball, football and baseball and didn't see the point :dohanim:

I still think of them when I play (although not when I'm losing my cool about a bad shot/round as they would not approve of that). Oh well, I learned almost everything they tried to teach me...

didn't get into it until mid 30's, when i began working with a different group that all played, started looking at clubs and really fell in love with the clubs before the game if that makes sense...