To Those in the Golf Biz.... Do You Still Love Golf?

9-Iron Man

Exciting Times
Reaction score
Handicap
High
There's a common saying that if something you do for fun becomes your job, it becomes less fun. So to those of you who work in the golf industry, do you love the game more or less than before you started working in it?

Very interested in what people have to say about this. I work around something I love and I got to say: I don't love it as much any more.

BTW when I was high school I worked as a Caddie/ Bag Room Cleaner/ Driving Range boy and it was AWESOME. But that was more like a summer job for high school kids to mess around.

I got into the business because I love the game and I can't imagine a better way to spend my days. just when I think I might get frustrated because I don't to get to play as much as I'd like or don't make the most money...I walk out of the pro shop and look around. I get paid to do what I love. I watch the sun come up over dew covered fairways at one of the greatest golf clubs in the country. I can step out of the shop at any time and play a hole or two. I get to see and play all of the latest equipment in the industry. I have met so many people and grown so many relationships through-out my golf career....I wouldn't be here without them.

if you don't truly love the game....don't get in the business. I love it more each day.

i'm trying to find a way into the business myself. it's a shame that no one wants to take a chance on a 32 year old obsessed dude, with a huge passion for helping others, who loves this sport, who has a background in marketing and sales. i wish the economy would get better.

I'm tellin ya... I have an answer lol.

But I feel ya. I know there is something out this way, especially being in AZ.