You mention paint RatFink , I have been an Automotive Paint Refinish Tech for 32 years now and 5 years ago I did all the body and paint work on my buddies 65 SS Chevelle ( Victory Red w/ Black SS stripes & Has a Blown 454 ) , about a 15-20K paint job . I had him buy the paint it was $8500.00 just for color and clear :D
I painted my other buddies T-Bucket and the color he picked out was $1000.00 just for the color .

I was building a 37 Ford Tudoor Humpback Sedan and had 25K in just the rolling chassis , had all the body work done , but run out of funds as it was going to take another 25K for me to finish it so I sold it 3 years ago :(

I have been shooting WaterBorne for the past year and its the wave of the future .

Interesting thread .
http://homepage.mac.com/dwilliams53/My%20Website/index.html

Well doggonit, if you were in Calgary, we'd come to you! Guys up here are quoting $20k+ for bodywork + paint.
HOpefully we find one for <$12k

Those jobs were for friends and I never charged a cent ..... but I am compensated for having such good friends , as they helped me tear down 400 ft of 6 foot privacy fence and build another one in 110 degree heat ..... LOL

When my other friend gets his shop set up I have to do his 68 GTO that hes had since high school :D

$8500 just for the paint in a can! Holy ****. I paid $420 for my gallon of Sikkens 15 years ago.

Question: Does modifying your exhaust cause your car to lose HP? There's a "golf tee mod" that you can do on my car (it opens up the other exhaust all the way instead of just at higher RPMs) that makes the car have more of a rumble since both exhausts will be open all the time, but I've heard that it loses about 10HP or so. So was just wondering :confused2: