Weighing the Options - Buying a House

9-Iron Man

Exciting Times
Reaction score
Handicap
High
I want to buy I house. I have for a long time now, but little things kept coming up. AdamsGirl and myself are finally in a position to actually go for it, however my Dad thinks otherwise. My Dad thinks that the housing in Edmonton is still very overpriced. We would be looking at houses around the $375 mark which are 3 bed, 2.5 bath homes around 1500 sq ft or so. Don't get me wrong, that is a lot of money. However after renting for the last 5 years, we are more than ready to take the plunge.

My question to pose to the THP members is this, do you think this is a good time to buy?

My family has a house that we are considering buying as well.

Hello 9-Iron. I'm no expert, but if you are in a cash position and don't have to suffer through selling a home to finance the purchase of a new home I think it's a great time to buy. There are a few questions I would ponder first. How stable is your employment situation and can you make payments with just one income if you have to? From your comment I guess Canada hasn't suffered through the same price erotion on housing that we've faced here in the states! Either way good luck!!

What were the prices at the housing peak? What were the prices before it started going out of control? My house appraised this year at a couple thousand over what I paid for it in 2003. It was at its highest in 2007, when it was 25,000 above what I paid. I'm no expert, but figure if you can wait until prices are at 1999 or 2000 levels, that might not be a bad idea.

Seems like I am hearing more on talk radio to wait a little longer to buy, unless you just don't want to wait anymore. But hey, offer 80-90% of asking price, if they really need to sell, you might get lucky. Don't worry about offending anyone, you never know who might bite.