Mixing hybrids into your bag

What combination of hybrids and irons do you use?

• Total voters

Stuggy

Reaction score
Handicap
I'm not a great golfer however I am starting to try and work on my bag a bit. I have a cheap starter set from years ago. At the time I also bought a few cheap hybrids. I have recently bought decent wedges (Cleveland).

I am working towards replacing my irons which brought to my attention that people selling their sets sometimes start with a 6 iron. I would have thought they would have a 5 or lower (but less likely). So obviously people are mixing in hybrids into the lower iron range. I am thinking of 5-9 since I've got nice wedges now.

I will probably work on getting some better hybrids after I get replacement irons.

I'm curious what you guys are using as far as irons vs hybrids.

Last edited:
I've been considering replacing my long irons with hybrids for a couple years. I carry a 4h and also the 4i from by iron set. While I can get more maximum distance from the 4i, average distance and dispersion with the 4h is better.

It's not like a hybrid is a magic bullet, however. I bought a TourEdge 3h earlier in the year but gave it away because I didn't care for it. I'm curious what a fitted set of hybrids could do for my game.

To your point @Stuggy , if I were to ever invest in a completely new bag, I would do as you've described. Unless it was the best fit, I wouldn't buy a set of irons GW through 4i again. I might want my 9i through 6i to match, but would look at easier-to-hit hybrids, as well as custom wedges.

When I'm getting the same distance with my 5i and 4i that I am with the 6i, it's time to make a change.

My current setup has zero hybrids. I may change that up next year.

Have tried several and hybrids and my game are line oil and water. Going back to a 4 iron or utility.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk