Stryker’s 2021 commitment to better golf

Stryker

#NothingFeelsLikeAMizuno
Reaction score
So I have had this idea floating in my head for a few months now to achieve a more consistent game and better scores. This thread will serve to follow along with my journey.

First a little background. I started playing golf around August 2017. I was 37 at the time and had never picked up a club in my life. I went to a young local pro because he offered package lessons of 4 for $100. $25 a lesson is pretty cheap so I handed him $200 and scheduled one per week to start. I won’t go too much into old details about old lessons other then to say we built an understanding of basics and I was happy to hear he thought I picked things up faster then anyone he had seen and I progressed pretty quickly. I got to the point that I was taking lessons from him and another pro off and on as I felt the need and over time those lessons got less frequent and I also reverted back to just seeing the original pro.

I thought starting out I would be happy just playing around bogey golf or a little better like mud 80s. I was wrong. I finally broke 80 early last year a couple times but the. I was back to bogey golf or just below. My game is so inconsistent it is driving me nuts.

I started thinking about what I can do to play better more consistent golf. I came to the realization that I used to go to the range a lot and take a lot of lessons hen I first started playing and have gotten away from all that. So I decided more practice time was in order and started going to the range a couple times a week again to work on issues I was having. I have seen some positive impacts from that already.