Can Courses Handle the Golfer Influx Long-term?

i agree that it would probably take some re-routing, and maybe a little infrastructure to offer cart paths for the 6-hole people, maybe more marshalls, etc. i do think it has legs though.

i would agree with the bolded, but mostly as it pertains to enthusiasts like we are. but i think the pace of life for many people who are new to the game is not conducive to the length of time 18 holes takes, let alone how physically taxing that can be for someone just picking up the game.

i think about my wife. she and i started playing when we first got married. she took lessons and could hit the ball. i took her to play twice, both times 18 hole rounds, both times on weekends. it was too long and too hard for her. she said she wanted to play a handful of holes, then go sit outside and drink wine and talk. i think the 6-hole round would be perfect for that.

Might be time to revive that thread, because that is exactly the goal. Some simple re-routing means nobody loses their 18 hole rounds...

I know my home course can't, it was such a huge problem in 2020 with really no option to fix. And I don't expect the demand to reduce any time soon.

I think some things will be tried from course to course that may help a little bit, but if these courses continue to see the doubling or maybe even tripling of what they saw last year, even at a maintained level, eventually the service level, infrastructure, availability of tee times and especially pace of play is going to be an issue.