Question re golfer’s elbow

McLovin

grateful for this community
Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
Handicap
I had an interesting conversation with a massage therapist today about golfer’s elbow. It had me curious: If this is something you have struggled with, which arm is affected and are you right or left handed?

Both lol

Started with the right arm first from a really bad fat shot that left a bruise from my elbow to my wrist. (I was a beginner at the time) I now wear a compression sleeve (copper fit) on both elbows and it helps a lot. Making the switch back to graphite in the new irons coming in and that was a bit relief before so that is why switching back.

I had it in both elbows when I first picked up golf. I wore some compressions sleeves and they did help. Did a lot of stretching exercises as well. It rarely flares up for me now unless I do a ton of hitting.

I’ve had tendinitis in my left elbow for over a year. I’m right handed but the tendinitis doesn’t bother me while playing golf.

It’s funny. When I play well and I’m compressing the ball well it tends to hurt more. Right elbow mostly. Price of taking a good divot I suppose. I practice a lot at home and I invested in a really good hitting mat. That helped a lot as well. Cheap harder mats will kill your elbows. Hate em.

Right handed and it was in my right arm. Hurt like crazy for the first week. Rest and LOTS of stretches helped. In graphite shafts now and I have a sleeve to wear.

I'm a range junkie and only able to practice off mats and used to get really bad golfer's elbow (mostly right elbow) when I was REALLY steep on the ball. I also used to hit almost 200 balls 3-4x a week...not advisable by any means, lmao.

right handed and suffered mildly(thankfully) through it last year on my right arm. . A strap around upper forearm close to elbow helped for my "mild" condition. thankfully it didn't come back this past season.
My golf sucks for a hundred other reasons....lol