Mentorship for the Ambitious Golfer

cSweetMaj7

Reaction score
tl;dr for those who don't want to read my autobiography:
I'm new to golf, practicing very seriously and trying to get as good as I possibly can. I want to find a mentor but have been having a hard time as I feel most golfers don't have these same goals and those who do collect a lot of lesson fees. I'm trying to find a more natural way to get regularly involved with skilled players so I can learn from them.

I'm nearly eight months in since I started. For the first few months I was hitting about 100 practice balls 3-4 times a week. Once my body got used to that (and I stopped trying to kill the ball with every swing) 200-300 daily practice balls is my new normal. I played my first 18 holes in December. I lost a lot of balls off the tee with driver, however I did score a handful of legit bogeys, which I was happy with for my first time out. But, I knew I had to put in a lot more time on the range before returning to the course.

I finally did that a few weeks ago, playing the front 9 of a local course twice over a couple days. Though I was confident I wouldn't slice more than a few drives, I still managed to lose a good 4 or 5 balls. However, I did score my first pars. One on a par 3 and one on a 4. I was ecstatic. I am finally starting to feel what the difference is between aiming on the range and aiming on the course. I don't balk at a ball that's landed in the hardpan way behind the green. I channel Phil and take a crack at that flop shot I've been working on. I've developed an augmented putting grip that has taken my accuracy from mediocre to very good. I know those 3s and 2s are going to change into 2s and 1s as I interact with more greens under differing conditions and develop reading skills.