When was your first fitting?

camden_kid

Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
I've been very interested in the recent posts related to fitting and it is definitely something I would like to do at some point.

I'm curious to know when folks had their first fitting after they started playing golf. What was the time gap?

First fitting was in the mid 90s, about 20 years after I first started golfing. A multiple OEM iron selection fitting with the head pro on the range at Cardinal Creek (Scott AFB IL). Old school. Launch monitors weren't a thing yet. Now it's becoming a regular thing for me. Since coming back to golf about 7 years ago I've been 'fit' at least a dozen times for something(s) or other.

Been playing for nearly 30 years. As to the question, I'll hafta let you know when it happens.

Started when I was 5ish and had my first fitting last year at 30.

My first fitting was for a driver, about a year after I started playing.

I started playing 30 some years ago and had my first fitting last year.

I've been very interested in the recent posts related to fitting and it is definitely something I would like to do at some point.

I'm curious to know when folks had their first fitting after they started playing golf. What was the time gap?
I played for a year with off the shelf irons as a 13 year old then got a fitted set of irons and wedges - I’m 6’5” now and was tall for my age back then and had a surprisingly fast swing for a beginner kid so I benefitted from a fitting.

I can remember a lie board, the Ping static chart, and and a few demo clubs when we decided I'd grown beyond Grandma's clubs. I don't think the time gap would matter. It was when we decided it was time and worth investing in going forward. And then I mowed every yard I could find to play for the clubs. Folks bought the course pass, but they knew I'd take care of the clubs if I had to buy them. Lol