2. Generating energy for a probable ‘convex’ strike on the ball

csf.com

Reaction score
In my first post in this forum, I postulated on the probability of a convex strike on the ball. I painted in broad terms the various factors that need to be considered for that to happen.

I am a student of golf from Malaysia. My main tutors are Ben Hogan and Mindy Blake. Hogan’s Five Lessons: The Modern Fundamentals of Golf set the ‘gold standard’ of the golf swing. Blake’s Golf Swing of the Future made the first serious attempt to modify the structure of the Hogan method.

My journey of a lifelong search of a reflex swing started with Hogan’s ideas. It took a deviation at Blake’s fork. But the path is towards the same destination of playing golf reflexively. My contribution is to take their ideas to their logical conclusion.

My first posting provides a broad sweep of the milestones. In my next few posts, I shall make some pit stops to explain my concept in greater detail. This is to help understand the new concept of a convex strike on the ball. And hopefully, lead to its wider acceptance.

To do a convex-bend strike, the backswing needs to generate and store as much energy as possible.

To start, let us assume a stance where the distance between the outer heels is the same as that between the outer edges of the shoulders. This fits into the image of the whole body as a cylindrical coil spring. The movements of the body occur within the confines of the cylinder. (This stance is six inches narrower than the Hogan’s but wider than Blake's. This allows rotary movement to take place while remaining stable.)