Aimpoint Express - green reading

Castor Hades

Reaction score
Handicap
6.7 EGA
I was offered a chance to participate to a Aimpoint Express session. I have no experience of this, I know that it exists and that the Express version is a bit faster and simple. Anyone have any experience on this?

I will go there anyway, the price includes a round of golf, 18 holes on the best course in the country, and the whole deal is just 30-40 dollars more than the standard green fee.

Naturally, I will write a review / notes on the session. It's due to take place in May.

It's pretty new here Castor and not a lot of the regular aimpoint teachers have learned it yet. I know it's significantly faster than the regular aimpoint method having seen several of the videos on it.

Definitely worth the learn though for that price

Looking forward to hearing your thoughts, Henri!

Can't beat the price, looking forward to hearing your thoughts.

I have done the Aimpoint mid-point clinic and use some of the basics a lot to get a general read. Unfortunately I did not put the time in after to really apply it, which is one thing I hope to work on more this year. In fact, plan to go do an Express Read clinic real soon. From what I have seen this is a real concise way to use this method of green reading and takes out some of the negative of having to use the charts you use for the mid-point reads. It has some limitations, but may give you the impetus to go to the next level with it.

It all makes a lot of sense when you hear it, really basically boils down to nothing more than understanding gravity. They have done the math for you, and based on the speed, slope, and distance tell you how far to aim relative to the hole and in which direction assuming a basic speed of putt. The guys that developed and some that teach it are very approachable on Twitter if you have questions also. Getting fired up just writing about actually.