An eye-opening fitting experience

Thanks! Luckily I've got some experience with that situation. The two clubs that stayed in my bag the longest - my G15 irons and the 2014 Big Bertha Driver, I both struggled with right after getting them.
You are going to be deadly out there!

You are going to be deadly out there!

Here's hoping! It was nice to see my gut feeling with the driver (losing distance due to spin) was actually the case. Now to figure out irons, which I'm way less consistent with than I'd like...

Can’t wait to watch you hit this driver

Sounds like you had a great experience, and found a really nice driver for your swing!
Hopefully the turnaround time isn’t too long and you can get in some on-course time!

Had it not just completely "clicked" I would. It just felt natural to swing. I think it's a swing weight thing - the Ping has a heavy head, so I could feel it through the swing with the lighter shaft. And the ball flight/miss I was seeing with my driver was what I've seen on the course - it's not like I was hitting shots I wasn't used to with that one.
...and while it may have been odd to you, it was not odd to the fitter who obviously knows more than we do. Isn't that why we go to them? For their expertise? FWIW, I got fit for a specific hybrid shaft 3 years ago and didn't pull the trigger, because the fitting showed a bigger need to change out my irons. I just went back and we went through the process again. The optimum shaft was the same--three years later.

My swing speed was 85-88 but I was fit with a stiff shaft in my driver the other day. The regular shaft had me pushing everything right.

Funny thing is, I've been playing the stock regular shaft in that driver for 3 years without issue until recently. It seems like once I started hitting my irons better, I started missing right with my driver.