An Honest assessment....Why are we the handicap we are?

My driving game is what has held me back this season. It's been a season full of water balls and OB which is a game killer. My course also has gnarly rough that I've spent too much time in. It's annoying because driving had been a strength of mine the past couple of seasons.

Two things:

1) Short putts. I always miss a short putt here and there that was a missed opportunity. A couple of those a round makes a difference.

2) A stupid double bogey that comes out of nowhere.

Two more short putts and even turning the double bogey into just a bogey, and that’s 3 strokes a round. Doesn’t sound like much, but it’s a big difference.

1. i'm still new to the game

2. i have no natural ability that facilitates notable improvement...or just improvement?

I have lots of problems.

I am not consistent enough with the swing. Therefore I can not string together good shots frequently enough.

I get in trouble at times off the tee and then have to hit under branches etc.

I can not get on the green consistently enough on par 3's, always a bit off the green which leads me too.....

My chipping and long putting needs to get better and closer to pin. I have not made one 15 ft or longer putt all year after 10+ rounds of golf.

I can get into a groove with a couple of pars and birds and then it is lost and back to bogies or doubles. I also tend to start off good and get worse as the day goes. I am in good shape and don't feel tired but it does go downhill.

I think I picked up something in swing thanks to my new Garmin S60 watch. I used the tempo trainer and found out I was really quick in backswing which tends to happen to me. I have got to remember my tempo and getting back to saying "Ernie Els" on all swings.

Golf is a hard game. I work constantly on my short game. You don’t need to be young or athletic to develop one, and it’s a real stroke saver.