Danimal

AKA "Dee-Animal"
Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
Handicap
~10
Is anyone else an avid bird watcher? I am fortunate enough to live in an area with a diverse array of birds and I am always trying to identify birds that I see. I have recently been able to ID a Mississippi Kite family that live in my neighborhood. I thought they were falcons for a while but finally figured it out Saturday.

It's been a lifelong hobby for me and keeps you more in tune with your surroundings. Just saw a yellow bellied sapsucker yesterday, a bird I first saw when I was about 11 years old.

I enjoy birding in a natural history sense. I am not good at it and only really know the common birds. When I see new birds I do like to try to ID and learn a little. I have friends who are amazing birders. A couple of them can ID many birds by song. The trail system behind my house is a great birding area, and we see bird watching people and groups there all the time. I could see specifically investing more time in birding. Very enjoyable.

Spotted a Peregrine Falcon on a walk this morning. B60F35F9-817B-46ED-911D-778839FD8E59.jpeg

not necessarily a dedicated bird watcher but i do some bird photography...went out with the local audubon (sp?) chapter a couple of times to find cool bird spots.

Peregrine Falcon

8076E0D4-ABDB-4034-B0D2-181C32AB3F18_1_201_a.jpeg

I've been birding a long time. My mom got me into it and it was a great way to spend time with her.

I'm a study guy too, so I can identify probably 95% of the birds I see on sight. :oops:

I've been fortunate to live on both coasts and spend a lot of time in each of the varied habitats.

I only recently started trying to take pictures. Not easy...

I’m not a dedicated bird watcher but I spend a lot of time in the outdoors and I like to know about all the wildlife I encounter, birds especially. Songbirds are often difficult to observe. Large birds are MUCH easier to see and photograph. These are photos I took while on fishing trips.