Can you remember the first club(s) you bought?

camden_kid

Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
I have just bought my first club today from eBay after encouragement from kind commenters to my Check In Desk post. It is a second-hand TaylorMade Est 79 Putter. It feels good to have started on the road and I'm looking forward to getting it in my hands and knocking a ball.

What was the first club or set you bought?

Big Bertha Warbird driver! I was 15 or 16. Can't quite remember. I worked as a gopher for a handiman and saved up my pennies and bought that bad boy. It was my pride and joy at the time!

I remember buying a bunch of crappy Kmart and Walmart clubs early on. I remember how excited I was when I bought my first titanium driver from Walmart I think it was. Boy that thing wouldn't stay on the planet! Even back then I went through putter after putter too.

I think my first big brand club was a set of Cobra Gravity Back irons. I loved those things and played them for years.

Yep...remember just like it was yesterday.

my grandpa is the one that started me in golf, he bought me lots of clubs over the years, the first clubs i actually purchased myself were the 855 tommy armour silver scot irons.

Taylormade Tour Preferred Irons from a former SR tour player. $200

Garage sale mixed bag of goodies for $35

Wilson Prestige Oversized from K-Mart.

1603736615743.png

King Cobra UFi irons. Straight from eBay hah.