Car Detailing Thread

choppstixxx

AK Look-a-like
Reaction score
Handicap
I have been detailing cars for over 10+ years. I started off like most novices do washing and waxing my car. Then stepped it up when I purchased my first random orbital buffer a Porter Cable 7424, the "gateway" buffer. That really got me into detailing cars as a fun weekend side job. I used that for awhile, but it left a lot to be desired with work time and power. A little over a year ago I finally purchased a Flex XC 3401 VRG and wondered why I didn't do it sooner. It is leaps and bounds a better buffer than my old PC and makes detailing more enjoyable as I get older. I use a mix of detailing product brands that include, but are not limited to:

Menzerna
Chemical Guys
Poor Boys World
einszett
Optimum
Meguiars
Sonax
Gtechniq

I just recently won a 22ple prize pack from my local detailing supplier valued at around $300. It includes a bunch of their high end semi permanent coatings for paint, wheels, glass etc. I am going to use it on my '03 Honda S2000 this spring, cannot wait!

Here's a pic of my Stook (current toy):
aJkrUXxl.jpg

My '04 Saturn Ion QC - My first car, bought brand new. Owned for 9 years, finally sold it a few years ago.
017FDcEl.jpg

My '03 Suzuki GSXR-600 - My first bike, sold it when I moved out.
xVSagCnl.jpg

So that being said, any other detailing fanatics on here as well?

Last edited:
When I was younger/single I detailed my truck weekly. It was black and dirt showed up more than anything. I didn't go crazy like you just described, but I would spend a few hours on it making sure it was clean. I would take a toothbrush to the wheels and that was insane thinking back at it.

Now that I'm married it's the old car wash unless I'm bored lol.