Comments on my swing?

interlooper

Wishing I was golfing now
Reaction score
Handicap
As I am intending on making some changes during the off-season, I thought I would get your thoughts on my swing. I am also posting this in the pro section, but I wouldn't mind hearing your criticism, suggestions and other comments. I have found the most success the last few years by "keeping the club in front of me." However, some of the things I struggle with from time to time are getting too "laid off" and not keeping my rear end back. This is a fairly typical swing of mine. This is a wedge (so I don't hit the ceiling).

p.s. you may also comment on the Chicago winter beer belly if you so desire.

Last edited:
How's your balance? You seem a bit tense in the set-up.

Also, you must hit it pretty far. That's some wicked swing speed with a wedge.

I'm no swing expert, but something I saw is something I've been working on taking out of my swing. It's hard to tell in jeans, but it looks like you are taking the flex out of your leg on your backswing, this can lead to getting too much hip turn, and not getting enough coil between your lower and upper body. This is somehting I have been working on, and when I am doing it righ it leads to more power and consistency.

Like I'm said, I"m no expert jsut something my pro has pointed out as a flaw in my swing.

You have a strong set up, nice. Great posture, nice. The club is in a great position at the top and you left arm is down line at impact. These are all great and you should build on them.
You right leg, as wakerider said, is straight when the club is at its apex. As a result you have a fly right elbow on the down swing. Keep the flex in your right knee through out the swing and try to keep you right elbow closer to you right hip on the down swing. If you can these down you will be able free wheel.

Are you not supposed to take a divot with a wedge ...just saying :D

Haha. I'm sure that would go over well with the wife.