Confused- Driver Fitment Impact on Transition

Acesteve

Reaction score
Handicap
Driver
Historically I'm a poor driver of the golf ball. I'm now able to pinpoint most of the issue to a rushed transition where either I loose balance, let the right hand take over, or both. During this lockdown I've played quite a bit and practiced. Through all this I found an old driver of my sons (TM R7) for some reason I transition better with both in practice and on the course. So I set up my gamer and my 2010 era driver to same grip, similar headweight and as close to same total weight. Clearly the heads are different and the shafts are different. Both my 2010 and 2017 driver are longer then the R7 because they are lower spin drivers in my hand. Still, while I can swing all better then 3 months ago, I can still detect for reasons I don't understand that I naturally transition the old R7 better then the other two and this reduces the Number poor quality hits I get relative to the others. The R7 is 45inch driver with the stock regular shaft in it, the 2010 is a 45.5inch shaft Cleveland launcher with ultralight stiff shaft, the 2017 is a Wilson Triton with a cut down 50g class stiff shaft. Triton plays at 44 1/8th.

anyone seen this problem and have any idea? I'm interested in a new driver but thinking it very possible I would find I'm back to a rushed transition.