Diving into the world of blade putters after using mallets for decades...

tahoebum

Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
Handicap
I was over at my sisters house early this week where she has lived in our dads house since he passed 5 years ago. His golf clubs were still in the garage so I decided to grab his old Ping putter circa 1965. He was a good putter as an 8 index at his peak and had the same Ping putter in his bag for most of his adult life. I got it home and put a new “Pro Only” Ping grip on it and started hitting putts with it on my indoor green. I was shocked to discover how well it performed as I’ve been using mallets almost exclusively for the last 25 years. I took it to the course yesterday and had a great day on the greens with it and didn’t come close to 3 putting even though I had a handful of lag putts over 45 feet, one of which was about 70 feet with 10 feet of break that I left 6” from the cup. I only made two birdie putts with it but I left two just a half a roll short and lipped out another two. My regular Wednesday golf buddies said it was the best they had seen me putt all year.

This has me now diving into the world of blade putters which I’m excited about as I have only two other blade putters other than the old Ping I just added in my collection of about 40 putters. One is a Taylormade from 1980 and the other is a fugly Nike so it hardly counts. I just ordered a SL Toulon Austin “like new” from the CPO site for $221 and I’m bidding on a couple Bettinardi and other blade putters on EBay. Maybe I’ve had it wrong all these years limiting myself to mallet putters and their higher MOI. I open to suggestions from all you hardcore blade guys out there.(@Canadan). I’m sure I’ll be adding a handful of blades to my collection in the next month or two. They are a lot sexier than mallets!

YES!!

I mean, what if that's been the problem all along???!