• It's pretty rare.

Votes: 10 11.4%
  • I launch rough rockets for a living.

Votes: 2 2.3%
  • Not a lot, but they happen.

Votes: 48 54.5%
  • I'm not sure they exist.

Votes: 6 6.8%
  • With the right (wrong) lie I'll end up over the green if I don't account for it.

Votes: 16 18.2%
  • The grass usually slows me down enough to balance out the face-bomb effect.

Votes: 4 4.5%
  • I live in the fairway. We don't get them there.

Votes: 2 2.3%

• Total voters

OldandStiff

AlsoBald
Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
Handicap
+
So help me out here THP. I feel like I hear about flyers A LOT. Infinitely more than I come across them. I've played over 50 rounds this year and I can only think of 1. That doesn't seem like something worthy of all the attention it gets. To me, a flyer has to actually go further. Whether it stays safe or puts you in the ****, it has to end up unexpected or unreasonably long. So to me, a tough lie that doesn't get good face contact and just flies differently, or lands a little short but rolls out to the same distance in the end because it had very little spin isn't a flier. And that's a common time I hear people say the word. So give me your take on what you consider a flyer and more improtantly HOW OFTEN YOU HAVE ONE.

I would say I have definitely had some. But the amount of times I've looked at a lie and said this might be a flier and it actually is a flier rather than a good shot, crappy tangled shot or fat shot is pretty small.

I think if you are a tour pro and you are looking to land the ball on a dime, then yes, to the likes of us, no. I certainly can lose spin out of the rough and see it roll out way past where I was aiming, but extra yards through the air? Never happened to me.

i tend to get flyers off the fairway? :facepalm:

I’ve seen them a time or two. Just like that time I saw a turtle on the course.