Do you have to 'clear the hips'?

Status
Not open for further replies.

T_money28

Reaction score
I see many many golf tutorials online talking about the importance of rotating and firing the hips at the start of a downswing. I believe this has become a very desirable attribute because of guys like Dustin Johnson who get crazily open on their downswing and follow through. They say that it increases speed, brings the club on an inside path and keeps the face square.

Is there any very good or pro golfers around that don't really care about a huge hip turn? I'm no expert but I think that so long as you transfer your weight correctly, extend your arms straight turn the torso and bring your shoulder under the throat you will make the room enough to naturally swing down on an inside path. Initiating the downswing by firing the hips is just another thing to think about and an unnatural movement. The hip rotation is just exchangeable for forearm rotation through the downswing and follow through and they are just two different ways of going about things.
View attachment PXL_20210803_174310594~2_1280x720.mp4

Clearing the hips is key for me. If I dont, I tend to get stuck and everything goes right.

Jon Rahm doesn't really seem to have a huge hip turn as much as some of the other guys.

The pelvis is the midpoint of the body and as such is the link between the legs and the spine. The pelvis can be used as a hinge between the spine and legs or it can fuse the legs and spine together. This process is "nutation" (fuse) and "counter-nutation" (hinge). During the golf swing the pelvis hinges during the backswing and then fuses during transition and forward swing to enable the potential forces stored during the backswing against the ground to be released at the bottom of the downswing.
It is not about clearing the hips but using the strong muscles of the pelvis to transfer ground and rotational forces through the spine and then to the two levers - the arms and golf shaft.