Double Carpal Tunnel Surgery - a golfer's experience

ClarkeWoodfin

Reaction score
Handicap
Hello Everyone,

I recently had Carpal Tunnel surgery in both hands, and I wanted to share with everyone my experience in detail. I'm sure that many of you know you have Carpal Tunnel Syndrome (CTS) and a lot of you may suspect that you have it. I'm hoping this post will encourage people to get the problem diagnosed and fixed.

Common Sense Disclaimer: I'm not a doctor, and I don't play one on TV. Don't take this as medical advice from me, since I'm not qualified to give any. Go see a real doctor (and not one that's just on TV) and get advice on CTS from him/her.

I've suspected for about 10 years that I've had CTS in both hands. My hands would get numb whenever I painted, rode a bike, played tennis, or held a fishing rod. What's really odd was that my right hand would get numb while holding a pair of chopsticks. Isn't that weird? I thought so too. My CTS would get aggravated whenever I'd do yard work, went fishing, etc. It never go so bad that I went to the doctor, but I knew that eventually I'd need to do that. Some people have more severe CTS symptoms like severe numbness and pain. Mine hadn't gotten that bad.

In 2013 I dedicated myself to really improving my golf game. After many sessions at the range hitting balls, and hitting them off those lame plastic mats - my hands were really sore and really hurt. Besides the frustrating of dealing with it, I started worrying that I might have something more serious than just CTS, so I finally went to the doctor.