Etiquette while testing clubs

Bowtiepower00

Reaction score
Stopped by my local shop today. PGA tour superstore, Stopped in right at opening (9am...) Ive spent plenty with them in the past, if that matters.

Went there looking for hitting mats and such, fitting area was empty. Asked the Pro if they had any Radspeed drivers in LH, to my surprise, they did. He asked if I wanted to hit one, I hesitated but said sure.

Full disclosure, I just ordered (and received) my set of Radspeed OL irons direct from Cobra. I spend a decent amount per year on golf, but I’m pretty much done (besides green fees) until the fall. Anything from Cobra or Callaway is on the radar- I like the fact I can exchange shafts between Callaway offerings. B21 is on the short list.

I’m not looking to be a “tire kicker” and waste anyone’s time, but I’m genuinely interested in the Rads, and will consider an upgrade in the fall, if I see a noticeable improvement.

I’m new to testing clubs in an indoor setting. It was my first time hitting on a sim, the info was invaluable.

A few serious buyers showed up and I hit a few and left. Didnt want to take the fitters time away from them.

Im not a total looky-loo, and plan on doing an in store fitting for my next driver. Is it okay for me to go in and hit different clubs here and there? I dont wanna be “that guy...”

100% okay. The bays are there for you to test clubs. My guideline - just be honest when the salesperson asks. If you’re a tire kicker, say so. If you’re comparing to buy, that’s ok as well. In my limited experience, so long as they’re not swamped, most folks want to “play” too so will offer up the sim and options to test.

Like you wrote - the fitter asked you.

I do exactly what you did. And I always tell the guy that if he needs the bay then just to bump me because I usually am just looking for the sake of looking and if he has someone that wants to be fit to fit them.