First Tournament In 8 years!

bgammill

Reaction score
Handicap
This upcoming weekend I’m going to be playing in my first multiday tournament in over 8 years. I started playing competitive golf when I was seven years old, played through high school (winning four team state championships) and played three years at a D1 college, but I’ve never been as nervous as I am for this one. You might wonder why, if playing for so long, I haven’t played in a tournament in eight years….well after playing college golf I never wanted to play the sport again. College golf took all my love and care from the game with it in those three years. I stopped playing after college and just picked up golf again last year after six years of not playing. I told myself when I got back into it I would be playing only for fun and the love of the game, which has come back stronger than ever. So, here I am (after so serious peer pressure) playing in a competitive tournament which I haven’t done in a very long time. I’m not worried about how well I’ll do but I don’t want a three day tournament to remind me of why I grew to hate the game long ago. There are many other reasons college golf wore me out but I’m hoping this doesn’t take me back.
If you’re reading this thank you very much for taking the time out of your day to do so, I needed to get this off my chest. I must say finding THP is part of the reason the love of the game has come back and to see there are so many people out there ready to talk about this wonderful game. Thank you THP and its members for giving me a place to ‘release’ and talk about golf.

It is great that you are getting back into competitive golf. Good Luck!

Welcome back and good luck.