From one extreme to another...CG16's to S56's...

Titleistforlife

Reaction score
Handicap
GHIN 6.3
A little background...I've been playing Pings for the last 26 years. In fact, I have not owned another brand of irons since 1984. This year I decided to think outside the box and try the Cleveland CG 16's. I thought maybe I was ready for Game Improvement Irons. I played them for a couple weeks in Arizona and Florida and decided I couldn't get used to looking down at that fat line and chunky club, even though I played alright with them. Along with that, I just missed my Pings.

While in Florida I hit quite a few different sets of irons and when I came home I decided to order up Ping S56's. I was really torn between these and the forged Ping Ansers. Today, with snow flakes in the air and the wind blowing 30 mph I gave the S56's a test drive.

The first thing I noticed was that these irons are a solid club length shorter than anything I've owned before. Once I made that adjustment things went fairly well considering the conditions. The clubs do punish you a little when you miss, but appear to be more forgiving than the S58's were. I've never owned a more "workable" iron. Even with the shorter irons, I was able to easily fade or draw the ball. I wouldn't mind a little more beef on my longer irons, but will have to make due.

In summary, the jury is still out on the S56's. In the back of my mind I am thinking maybe I should've got the Ansers, but I will at least give these until the end of the summer, then, see what Ping comes up with for late 2011/2012. I just don't know if I am good enough to game these irons or not.

The highlight of the day came on No. 8, a 158 yard Par 3. I hit a 7 iron that disappeared on the fly into the hole and then a second later came flying back out like someone threw it out of the hole. The ball ended up on the fringe some 20 ft. away. Oh well, what fun is a hole-in-one with no witnesses. :golf3: