Game Improvement or Players Distance

jvbart

2022 Quest Cup with Edel Golf
Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
Handicap
I have been playing golf for 2 years now with a used set of Callaway X-14 pro series irons. I'm starting to improve (usually shoot in the mid 90s) and am looking to upgrade my Irons. I have no trouble with distance (105-110 mph swing speed with Driver) but struggle with accuracy. I tried my friends Burner 2.0 Irons and they felt huge and awkward to me. I know I should probably be playing game improvement irons but I'm worried that I will struggle with larger club heads now that I'm used to playing something a bit smaller for so long.

Anyone have some advice if it's worth going to a larger game improvement iron or if something in the players distance category offers similar forgiveness to some of those larger club heads? I'm looking to buy something a couple years used. Any advice would be a huge help as I really have no reference how much more forgiving game improvement irons are.

As @JB would say, you can have both. SO many good offerings out there.

I'm a high cap player (22.6 right now) and I play Callaway Apex Forged irons. Are they "too much club" for a player of my ability? I don't know. There are several trains of thought regarding this issue. I think we've all heard the arguments. I've always had one of them stick with me, though. I had a golf pro once tell me that, yes, GI irons will be more forgiving on mishits but if all you hit GI irons it will mask flaws in your swing that you might just get comfortable having. He said that he rarely recommended GI irons to his students because he wanted them to learn how to hit the ball correctly and that GI irons only served to further mask their swing flaws.

On the other hand, GI irons make the game more enjoyable to players who may not have the time or resources to fine tune their game.