Gaps-Hybrids to Irons

Scrap Iron

On The Eh Team
Reaction score
Handicap
Hero Shots
What are your gaps between your highest lofted hybrid and your longest iron? How do you adjust if you have a large distance gap?

I have a 19 degree hybrid and then a 4 iron my gap is about 25/30 yards. I can choke down and take a little distance off but mostly I plan the hole and use course management to avoid being stuck in the distance gap.

What about you?

My gap is maybe 15-20 yds. No need to adjust for me as I am usually playing to a number on a par when choosing between these two clubs.

10-15 yards if both clubs get a solid strike on the ball. My shortest hybrid and longest iron are both 24*. The gap to my 19 from the iron is about the same as your gap. Choking down on the 19* can close it up sufficiently if I want to add a club elsewhere in the bag.

10-15 yards if both clubs get a solid strike on the ball. My shortest hybrid and longest iron are both 24*. The gap to my 19 from the iron is about the same as your gap. Choking down on the 19* can close it up sufficiently if I want to add a club elsewhere in the bag.

I like that your clubs are the same loft, gives a great gapping.

I like that your clubs are the same loft, gives a great gapping.

I've discovered that if one isn't neurotic about lofts between clubs one can eliminate problematic yardage gaps.

My 4 hybrid to 5 iron gap is about 20 yards. I just choke down a hair on the hybrid when between distance

My 4 hybrid to 5 iron gap is about 20 yards. I just choke down a hair on the hybrid when between distance

Bout 15 yard gap for me, same set up

I sought a hybrid that, regardless of loft, was 15-20 yards longer than my longest iron. With a little grip down I can narrow the gap, but the whole point for my hybrid is to fit right on top of the longest iron. My hybrid is one degree stronger than my 5i.