Goalie's Goals for the Grandaddy

goalie

Albatross 2023 Club
Reaction score
I am a 52 year old guy from Minnesota that is happily married (25 years just before the Grandaddy) with one 14 year old son.

It's been a few weeks since I found out I'm going to Carlsbad this coming December, and it's been a whirlwind since finding out. My wife watched the third episode of WGP today with me (we're on vacation) and is now finally convinced that I'm not going to wake up in a tub full of ice somewhere in Southern California missing a kidney. (For the record, I've got two kidneys, so one really wouldn't be that big of a sacrifice for going to the GD)

About my golf history/experience:

1. I've been golfing for maybe thirty years, but never that seriously, mainly in a league with some friends and guy's weekend trips.

2. I'm a 17 handicap, and am better from 100 yards and in than I am off the tee.

3. I have not even carried a driver this year playing. (see #2)

4. I was a decades long slicer, and "fixed" that last season. Now I miss my old, reliable "power fade" off the tee, because the ability to miss both ways is NOT a superpower.

Considering the above, my goals for the Grandaddy are simple, and I only have two: one is golf related, the other is experience related.

On the golf side, I am planning to take some lessons and ensure that I have a repeatable, reliable swing for my fitting. I don't have the time to get "good" at golf between now and December, but I can put in the work to ensure that I bring a repeatable swing when I get fit by the best in the world.

My other goal, the experience goal, is to come away from the experience with the feeling that I actually did soak in as much of this amazing experience that I possibly could.