How do you know you have a gap in the bag?

vdubtx

MC Team Paradise 2020
Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
Handicap
Not sure this deserves it's own thread, but, I am wondering how you know if you have a gap in your bag?

From what I have learned is a suggestion that irons should be gapped approximately 10-15 yards from each other. Should fairways be a certain number of yards below driver. How about for Hybrids?

I have 5 rounds in with my arccos sensors and was curious to see what my "smart distance" was with the data that has been collected so far on my set.
An anomaly from what I see is the 6i, I only have a few shots with that club and they weren't well struck leading to a lower number with that one. All other clubs I think seem accurate as far as distance. My one Hybrid doesn't get too much use as it seems to be a hook monster for me. I am questioning the need of the 3 wood, since my 5 wood goes same distance and I hit it straighter.

IMG_0157.PNG

I’m no expert but if it were me I would drop the 3w and hybrid and then try to find an iron I could hit in the 170 range. I’d probably be looking for another 3w also because that’s a huge gap between your driver and 3w

Iron sets have appropriate gaps from from the manufacturer.
Regarding hybrids and fairway woods I think too much focus is on carry distance and, or, total distance. For actually shooting lower scores particular players might benefit from having two or more clubs with nearly the same distance capability, but a significant variation in shot trajectory, accuracy tendencies, fitment for particular lie types etc...

I would get the loft on your 6 iron checked, it seems to be a big outlier as far as your other irons.

Edit: now that I saw your commentary on the 6 iron, I would try and find a 3 wood or shaft for the 3 wood that gets you a little more distance.