How Long Do You Play a Set of Irons?

Midman03

Reaction score
I've been playing my set of TM irons for about 3 years and this got me thinking. How long do you guys play a set of irons before going shopping?

I'm on 3 years with my primary set. I have been meaning to replace them, but I still love them. I regrip 2 or 3 times a year.

Until I found THP, ten years. Been here just over four years and I'm on my third set of irons. But I can explain . . . .

I was selcected as a long-term tester of a set of irons. My existing irons were two years old. Then my joints told me I should be playing graphite shafts, and with two full sets of irons as trade, it made sense. Especially among this crowd. I think I will keep my current set five years minimum.

I play them until I find a better set. Regrip every other season. This set is in their 4th year. I already checked with Ping about having them “refinished” and surprisingly it’s relatively inexpensive based upon the costs of new irons. $17.75 per club is good!

Last edited:
I'll typically play a set of irons for 3 years and then upgrade.

Everything else in the bag has been about a two year turnover.

Putter? A LONG damned time. I've been playing golf since around 2001. I've owned 3 putters in that time. The latest I bought last year.

Change iron set every chance I get. Doesn’t matter if it’s good or bad I just like trying different iron set. Can be new or old model I wished I tried before.
Keep putter for long time. Will try few here and there but always come back to it.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Couple/few months.

Stupid state of the world throwing off my routine though.

It depends on how well I like them and how well I hit them. Have gone 10 or 12 years when I wasn't playing a ton of golf. Playing about 250 rounds a year these days so 4 years would probably pretty well wear them out. Don't do driving range so all wear is during the course of play.

5 years when I was younger. 10 years when I was older.