How Long Do You Play a Set of Irons?

Like the rest of my bag there's not a great answer, until I get the itch for something new. That's been anywhere from a month to a year recently.

My last set was used & I played them for close to 15 years & decided I wanted a new set for my 50th. So I just got a new set Cobra F9s & probably won't replace them for a few years, unless I'm lucky enough to win one of the contests here on THP.

I've been playing my set of TM irons for about 3 years and this got me thinking. How long do you guys play a set of irons before going shopping?

I went 27 years on my first quality set of irons.

Been through 10-12 sets since.......errrrr kinda.

My best golf bud and I build clubs, so I'm always trying something or stealing clubs from him and vice versa..

I change irons less than anything else in the bag. I generally keep them 4-5 years before getting the urge to switch to something else. Years ago, I used to turn over iron sets every few months. A guy I met a guy from a golf board around 2005. We probably played 30 rounds a year together. By 20012 or so it dawned on me that played the same irons and was a phenomenal irons player. That changed my perspective.

I ordered a custom set of PING G25s when they came out. I played them until 2018 when I changed to Srixon 565s. I play on keeping these at least another 3 seasons unless something really jumps out at me.

Not long enough, usually. Ideally, Id probably play a set for 5 years but I like to tinker.

26 years, so far.
I bought my Ping Eye 2 BeCu irons new, and still play them.

If loving them is wrong, I don't want to be right...

But, if any of you are abandoning a 1-2 year old discarded set of high end irons and want to send them to me so I can see the error of my ways, feel free to pass them on.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk