How to Improve Angle of Attack with Driver

xThor

AnimeGods 神 | GolfTec Experience | TravisMathew
Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
Handicap
This is one of the things I know I struggle with. I am pretty typically around a -2*, can sometimes flatten it out to 0*. My typical swing path has been right to left, but working on that. I’ll try to get some data on trackman Friday, but generally, how do I get it more positive?

Following…

This is one of the things I know I struggle with. I am pretty typically around a -2*, can sometimes flatten it out to 0*. My typical swing path has been right to left, but working on that. I’ll try to get some data on trackman Friday, but generally, how do I get it more positive?
Where is your ball position? I struggle to hit up on the ball and am pretty neutral.

This could be helpful. Thanks for starting the thread.

I am FAR from an expert but one of the tips I find helpful for driving in general (and I think helps AOA) is to imagine your lead shoulder is against a wall. One of my bigger issues is tending to lurch toward the target with my upper body rather than rotate. In my mind by doing this I'm changing my contact point to be sooner than it should be, causing the negative AOA. Of course this explanation could be pure poppycock but it's something I've found helpful :ROFLMAO:

I set up by Blast to help drill AOA with my driver. Im flat to down sweeper with it. well I had to quit that drill because just thinking about hitting up, I was a HOT mess swinging UP to the moon and barely making contact. I need to revisit this as I put in dedicated practice.

Dominant hands.

All over this thread…

Ball further forward. Tilt shoulders. Keep your head behind the ball. Tee it high.

Ball further forward. Tilt shoulders. Keep your head behind the ball. Tee it high.
Do you find that you need a wider stance with all of those elements?

One simple set up change can sometimes fix angle of attack.