Introduction and Request for Feedback

BahBahBS

Reaction score
Handicap
Hi. New member from SF, CA and I've been lurking for a couple month's now. Finally in the market for some new clubs.

I have a question about shaft fittings if someone can work through the following with me:

I'm 49 and 5/6th's yrs old, started golfing when I was 22. Just started playing again regularly after playing 2-4 rounds a year for the last four or five yrs. About three months ago my wife asked me if I want to go to Bandon Dunes for my 50th in March. I said yes and have been playing at least once a week since. Now in the market for some new irons.

My three sets since I started playing are some KMart Dunlops, Lynx Parallax (prob 1" too long, at least) and the Titleist 735 DCM's I've been playing for 13-14 yrs. The DCM's were bought at Golf Mart, just walked in, looked at the used demo's for sale, hit some, liked the DCM's and that was it.

I did my first fitting ever on Sat and was really hoping I'd fit into the Hogan PTX Pro/Apex combo or the Srixon ZX combo, especially after living in those threads on THP for a couple weeks now. Was especially hoping the Hogan's would be a good fit because value (less $) and I like the looks.

Srixon and Hogan just weren't working at the fitting and long story short is the fitter ended up putting me in a Project X LZ 6.0 with the Apex '21. I kept pushing everything right of centerline on straight flight paths. The fitter did ask for a draw and I was able to put very playable shots on the ball when thinking about a draw at address. I was getting about 10-15 yards extra carry over the 735's 6 iron but I striped the 735 with my typical ball flight, slight draw, and the grouping was tightest of everything I hit. So, I wasn't stoked on the Apex. I was like, yeah, I guess I could get these and end up working with them. In the hitting bay at the fitting I was thinking maybe I'll just rehaft my 735's.