Iron repair question

gmiller598

Par 3 Net Zero
Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
Handicap
ok, my PW came apart on the course yesterday. Since I’m not an expert in club repair can anyone tell me if this simply just need glued back or is there a bigger issue?

I’m having a hard time telling if something broke off in there or it simply need glued back in place

2F8BC796-4E58-4D5A-980A-6169CD45C153.jpeg1AC03EA4-6BA1-44EF-9F32-8F88CFF5355F.jpegE26EC6E6-CDF8-4C42-8B28-7C087F0AF292.jpeg

Attachments

• 75BD2518-2C91-42BC-A3DC-63D6834099E7.jpeg
    75BD2518-2C91-42BC-A3DC-63D6834099E7.jpeg
    52.8 KB · Views: 14
It looks like just an epoxy failure. There doesn't seem to be anything down in the hosel and the tip of the shaft looks to be undamaged. You should be able to abrade the tip just a bit to clean it up , clean out the hosel and re-epoxy the shaft.

Looks like you dodged a bullet there.

It looks like just an epoxy failure. There doesn't seem to be anything down in the hosel and the tip of the shaft looks to be undamaged. You should be able to abrade the tip just a bit to clean it up and re-epoxy the shaft.

Looks like you dodged a bullet there.
That's what I thought and was hoping. I just ordered a set of G425 on Saturday and was going to trade these in towards the new ones so I was hoping it wasn't going to be an extensive repair. I thought it was odd the ferrule stayed in place when it let loose on the course yesterday.

ha ha .... looks like there may have been more epoxy to secure the ferrule than there was to secure the shaft.

Just looks to need prepped and reinstalled very little epoxy at all from the photos which is surprising as the pings are .355 tapers and usually a snug fit alone plus the epoxy (if applied).

Just looks to need prepped and reinstalled very little epoxy at all from the photos which is surprising as the pings are .355 tapers and usually a snug fit alone plus the epoxy (if applied).