Left hand low putting

TonyB

Reaction score
Handicap
I got to the course yesterday about an hour early and spent most of it on the practice green. I started playing around with left hand low and was surprised how well I was putting like that. I had no idea of the correct grip but was able to easily keep the face square to my line and had good distance control.

I made the not good decision to take it to the course until the 3rd hole with a 6 footer for birdie that I missed horribly. I played the rest of the round conventional grip but came home and found a Golf Mag article from Speith on his putting technique and grip. I have a tendency to manipulate the putter with my right hand at times and this is supposed to help with that. I will give it some practice time on the Putt Out mat for the next week or so.

I got to the course yesterday about an hour early and spent most of it on the practice green. I started playing around with left hand low and was surprised how well I was putting like that. I had no idea of the correct grip but was able to easily keep the face square to my line and had good distance control.

I made the not good decision to take it to the course until the 3rd hole with a 6 footer for birdie that I missed horribly. I played the rest of the round conventional grip but came home and found a Golf Mag article from Speith on his putting technique and grip. I have a tendency to manipulate the putter with my right hand at times and this is supposed to help with that. I will give it some practice time on the Putt Out mat for the next week or so.

I just converted to LHL.

Watch ball position with Left hand low - I moved the ball forward slightly in my stance and began sinking everything. Also, my left hand is only slightly lower than the right hand - I kind of wrap my right hand around my left hand fingers to eliminate the right hand more completely.