Lessons at 55 after playing for 40 yrs.

burmbuster

Reaction score
Handicap
A little background on my playing history, I started playing at 15 and played almost weekly into my late twenties. Consistently shot low 80's and then life happens. Kids get older, baseball, dance recitals, etc. Started playing consistently again around 10 yrs ago. It has been a struggle. I couldn't even take my driver out of my bag. Never actually had one in my bag for quite some time. Just irons and hybrids. My swing was simply gone. Don't use it, you lose it. As much as I have always enjoyed the game, for the first time in my life I was starting to not enjoy it so I decided to take some lessons. Went to 1.50 Golf and glad I did. Best move I have ever made. Of course the want to up sell as much as they can but I first got a new set of irons and was fitted. They wanted me to invest in a 10 lesson plan but I am still very athletic and coordination was not a problem. I felt I just needed a jump start to get pointed in the right direction so I got a 6 lesson package. My grip has always been strong and according to the instructor its easier to change your swing than your grip so thats what we did. I now play a very consistent draw when before it was a fade to a hard slice. I did have to figure a few things out myself on the range but if you are considering lessons at a later age DO IT. It pays of in spades.

Last edited:
I was somewhat you at 55 as well. Was quite content with my game and played well, but at 55 everything went haywire. I became a mess of quick fixes. Finally at a playing partners urging and recommendation to his pro, I broke down and took a lesson. Absolutely the best thing I could have ever done. In hindsight, he actually only changed 3 things, and I was hitting it out of the back of the range. My game is heading downhill, as now at 65, aging is more of the problem, but when things start to go awry, It always revolves around the 3 changes I made that day.