MAJOR Consistency Issues

icroth

Reaction score
Handicap
Yes
Hey everyone!
I'm new to the site, but I've had many friends tell me this is the best place for golf talk/advice!

With that being said, I'm sort of new to golf as well. Ive been practicing for close to 2 years now and I feel like I've come a long way. I've never had a golf lesson and I've mostly just taught myself through different videos on YouTube and watching other people at the range. I've also never owned a whole set of clubs. I bought a hand-me-down set of Acuity clubs at a second-hand sports store that included a driver, 3i hybrid, 9-7 iron, 4 & 5 iron, a PW and a SW, and a putter. Since i bought them my PW has bent and my driver broke but were still going strong with whats left!

To be honest, I don't feel like I'm a bad golfer. However, there are usually 2 different golfers that show up from me and never in between. Some days I practice and I pure most of my shots and can manipulate a draw and a fade. Nevertheless, the next day I go out (usually 2 or 3 days later) I'm lucky if I even get the ball in the air. Some days I feel completely lost with no hope and other days I could shoot an 80. I find it strange that it's usually never in between the two...

Usually when things go bad bad, I end up chunking the ball pretty bad, slicing it 60 yards a foot off the ground, or topping it 30 feet. Does anyone else have this issue or is it just me...?
But, if you have had this issue, what can be done about it? How can I mentally cope with being both a good and terrible golfer with no real consistency?

First off, welcome to THP. Glad you found the game and are enjoying it.
The consistency will usually come with practice. The repeatable swing, rather than changing paths and contact with each strike will fix itself. Do you get to practice much?

First off, welcome to THP. Glad you found the game and are enjoying it.