Match up ones gap wedge to the irons or the wedges?

smgoldstein

2022 Goat Cupper
Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
Handicap
So I have a 50 degree gap wedge that is part of my Epon iron set. I carry 54 and 58 degree Cleveland RX4 wedges a well. I also have a 50 degree RX4. I keep on going back and forth of which gap wedge to put in the bag. Match up the irons or match up the wedges? First world problems.

I never got along with my GW from my set. I never seem to be able to control the distance. I went with 50* SM7 and now have a 49* SM8. I feel like my distance control is much better and I also have more versatility which chips and pitches.

Match up the wedges.

Mines 49* and from the set. I use it for 90% of my wedge shots. The only time I don’t is out of greenside bunkers or if I’m extremely short sided.

I also use it for full shots. I like it a lot more than a true wedge for full shots.

Matched up my wedges with my last 2 iron sets because no GW available with sets. Prior to that I preferred a set GW. Have changed my mind going forward now. Non-set wedge adds more versatility IMO.

For me it depends on how I use it. My AW has historically been a full swing club, so I tend to stick with set AW. I have played some specialty wedges in that spot too, but the Apex Pro AW is so versatile, I don’t need one there.

match with wedges
pw is the only wedge ill match with irons

I’m rolling with my set gap wedge. I play one length, and it works for me better than a “real” wedge. The only one I use that isn’t part of the set is a Tour Edge One Out +, and I only use it out of bunkers. I’d like to get a one length sand wedge, but they’re still too pricey for my liking.