Mixed wedge set up?

JDax

The Finley Cooler
Albatross 2024 Club
Staff member
Reaction score
Handicap
GHIN 12.1
As some of you know, I have been testing the Ben Hogan Equalizer Wedges for the last 2 months. Last week, I put the Cleveland RTX-4 wedges back in the bag for a couple of rounds, before I write my review.

I've found something odd, I prefer the Hogan 54 degree v. the Cleveland 54 degree, however I prefer the Cleveland 58 degree over the Hogan 58 degree.
This weekend, I'm going to play a mixed set (Hogan 54 & Cleveland 58). I hope that my OCD allows it. What do y'all think, could you play a mixed set of wedges?

Right now I'm hi-toe 60 and a variety of other wedges in at 56. I prefer matching, but I'm ok with it.

I played an older Taylormade 58*, but Cleveland rtx-3 50 and 54. Since I use each club for such different situations, it's difficult to notice a difference.

I have and still do. Have MD2 52 and 56. I rotate an MD3 60 and an old Vokey 64 degree in and out of my bag. But, the OCD can be hard to overcome. I wish you luck good sir.

What do you like better about the 54 Equalizer and the 58 RTX?

I've done it, but don't care for it. It honestly brings doubt for some reason into my head more and makes me over think going between wedges. I also just simply hate looking at it in my bag.

I could but honestly likely never will. I don't buy a new 54 and 58 set until the previous wedges I was using are worn out and have always bought matching wedges.

Another example of playing what works for you. I do get the OCD thing of them not matching though and not sure I could do it.