CrashTestDummy

Reaction score
Handicap
4-ish
Any avid mountain bikers? I'm pretty sure there are very, very few people who are avid golfers and avid mountain bikers. Probably more people who are avid golfers and are avid curlers. 😂

I used to be. Back when I lived in the UK, I had some great purpose built trails nearby. I live on the doorstep of Ford Ord that has some fantastic trails apparently. I’ve been doing Peloton classes for the last 8 months to get my fitness back up so I should really go and check these local trails out.
A couple of pics from the trails back home in Swinley Forest.00CB7F92-5A38-4122-9416-36B666C0E1A6.jpeg
6068B332-EC58-4E25-AEE3-27967BD6A7FE.jpeg
6ADCB861-14F2-416A-B9E8-0D1692C8DC94.jpeg
B2860581-FEF1-4AEC-A59D-30D6082C5457.jpeg
6C183FBA-2863-45A2-BB2A-4A5E33FEF860.jpeg

@mtbloco this is right up your alley!

I used to race bikes of all kinds (mtb, road, and TT) but now it's golf of all kinds (good, bad, and meh). :)

Last edited:
I used to bike a ton. I still get out on the road and mountain bike regularly but now I just tool around here and there. Back in the day I had a blog that I used to document skiing and cycling. That was a lot of fun, and I because of it I would connect with people all the time. My wife also used to work in the cycling industry. For a time she also ran a local Team Luna Chix group that was about getting women into mountain biking. I was their wrench.

My current ride is an Ibis Ripley 29er. Fun bike.

I still have my Rockhopper around somewhere. Can't remember the last time I rode singletrack though...maybe 2 decades ago?

These days I'm into single speeders cruising gravel rail trails or bike paths. My main bike now has a coaster brake and yes, it's still a blast slamming the pedals down and leaving a huge skid mark just like everyone did when they were kids.

I ride a mountain bike but mostly on paved bike trails but do go every once in awhile to some off road trails, but nothing too serious