New Guy Here from Texas

goofydadgolfer

I Have No Idea What I'm Doing
Reaction score
Handicap
Bad
Howdy!

I just joined the forum to see what's up and maybe introduce myself! :wavey:

My name is Robby, and I a live in the west central part of Texas called the Concho Valley (San Angelo), where we don't get much rain, but when it rains it pours! ;)

Anyways! My love for golf started when I was about 10, when my late step grandfather, who was a scratch golfer and tried to go pro a couple of times, asked me to caddie for him during his weekly club tournaments. And a little at a time, I started learning from him how to play this game! After a lot of struggle and some "grass cutting" lessons my grandfather gave me (he used a grass whip to teach me the golf swing), I played my 1st full 18 hole round at age 13 and shot a 112 (I thought it was good)! My friends who were with me, shot in the 120's. Needless to say, I was hooked and all I wanted to do from then on was play golf!

My golf game finally started getting pretty decent around age 15/16, and I traveled around my area with some friends, playing all the little 9 hole courses and a few of the 18 hole courses we could afford to play on. I shot my lowest round of 66 when I was 17, at a local 18 hole public course. After that round, I thought to myself, maybe I start really pursuing this game and try taking it to the next level, and perhaps turn it into something.

But, I also use to love to write songs and play my guitar and sing for people (I just play the acoustic and chords) :guitar:, and had a dream of maybe one day becoming a country music star! I actually got one of my songs published, and started pursuing that dream instead, and put golf on the back burner. So, I moved to where the song writing scene was around Austin, Texas and started playing in the bars and clubs, and for anyone that would listen. But the music business never amounted to much, except a pounding headache the next day :sick:!