NoShanks Journey to the 2019 Grandaddy

NoShanks

Grandaddy 19 Alumni
Reaction score
Handicap
Hi everyone! NoShanks here, the #10 winner to the greatest event of all time - The Grandaddy!

First, I'd like to thank THP, JB, GG, and Callaway for this amazing opportunity!

So I had some time to process what just happened and things started to calm down a tiny bit and figured it was a good opportunity to open up a bit and let you know who the heck NoShanks is so that come December, you won’t be like this:

My name is Eddie and I am just outside of Cleveland, Ohio. I am 34 years old. I am a UX/UI designer and I have been playing golf since I was around 3 years old. I shoot in the low/mid 70’s to high 70’s, and on a very bad day 80's.

How did I end up here? Well, a couple years ago, I was researching golf equipment reviews and trying to keep up with the trends in golf and THP kept coming up in the search and I’ve always enjoyed the reviews and insights from the members here. This forum was just different than the others. Everyone was super helpful and nice and easy to talk to. We all share the same passion and love for this game of golf.

I am also deaf. I was born normal hearing but lost my hearing to meningitis at age 2. I wear a hearing aid in my left ear and did not wear anything in my right for 30+ years until I recently got a cochlear implant last year in October. When I played golf for the first time of the year early spring, I could not believe how loud the golf course was. Birds chirping, crisp thwack from a solid contact of a driver, carts accelerating away over gravel, the sound of a duck hooked drive (not me, my playing partner) killing a branch 250 yards down, and golfers at a nearby hole yelling profanities from the results of their bad shots. So, that what golf sounds like? awesome!