Patrick Reed and 2 stroke penalty

donny475

You can call me SteakSauce
Albatross 2020 Club
Joined
Mar 2, 2011
Messages
4,507
Reaction score
2,446
Location
Texas
Handicap
10.3
Patrick Reed gets a 2 stroke penalty for improving his lie in the waste area. Apparently he grounded his club behind the ball, which is legal in a waste area. But he moved sand back and away not once, but twice during his practice swing. Said he was not improving his lie.....to me it would improve his ability to get to the back of the ball. ut he says it was all the angle and looks worse than it was......Patrick Reed.
 

J.B. Cobb III

I’m a Ben Hogan guy!
Albatross 2020 Club
Joined
Oct 11, 2018
Messages
6,611
Reaction score
3,745
Location
Wilmywood
Handicap
28
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Imma tell my kids this was Patrick Reed... <a href="https://t.co/SZOtI8E4vZ">pic.twitter.com/SZOtI8E4vZ</a></p>&mdash; Eric Peyton (@ericpeytongolf) <a href="">December 7, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
 

DG_1234

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 29, 2015
Messages
4,760
Reaction score
1,128
Handicap
2
Patrick Reed gets a 2 stroke penalty for improving his lie in the waste area. Apparently he grounded his club behind the ball, which is legal in a waste area. But he moved sand back and away not once, but twice during his practice swing. Said he was not improving his lie.....to me it would improve his ability to get to the back of the ball. ut he says it was all the angle and looks worse than it was......Patrick Reed.
I remember the when Stewart Cink (on a playoff hole against Ted Purdy) used his finger to dig a trench behind his lie in a waste bunker at Harbour Town, and that was followed by a PGA Tour Offiical Slugger White cover up. It was a low point of PGA Tour history.
 

BuckNasty

Nastiest Hater
Albatross 2020 Club
Joined
Mar 29, 2018
Messages
3,798
Reaction score
2,078
Location
Jersey Shore
Handicap
14.0
100% intentional. I’ve never seen any player take a practice swing by having the club start directly behind the ball. Reed makes it pretty easy to dislike him.
 

DG_1234

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 29, 2015
Messages
4,760
Reaction score
1,128
Handicap
2
100% intentional. I’ve never seen any player take a practice swing by having the club start directly behind the ball. Reed makes it pretty easy to dislike him.
Did Reed think nobody was going to say anything about this cheating ?
 

mski

Active member
Joined
Apr 12, 2014
Messages
882
Reaction score
59
Location
wayne,pa
Handicap
9 USGA
Wasn't he leading going into day 3? Why would he intentionally cheat knowing there would be TV cameras following his every move the whole round?
I don't think he intentionally cheated. It's more so being in a waste bunker being allowed to ground his club behind the ball and him not thinking taking a practice swing and moving sand if he saw it or not was a problem.
I have been in the same situation in a waste bunker and probably moved sand in a practice type swing. The only problem was I didn't have TV cameras following me and all the sheep didn't think I was a dick for "cheating".
 

bigskyirish

Well-known member
Albatross 2020 Club
Joined
Feb 3, 2011
Messages
3,199
Reaction score
1,044
Location
Montana
Handicap
+0.5
Obviously, he's the only one who knows for sure. But I think he did it on purpose. I bet at least some of his former college teammates do too.
 

baylrballa

Hackers fo lyfe
Albatross 2020 Club
Joined
Apr 8, 2019
Messages
4,944
Reaction score
3,776
Location
Waco
Handicap
11
BTW that's the nicest waste bunker I've ever seen.
 

Supersport

Active member
Joined
Oct 19, 2012
Messages
357
Reaction score
39
Location
Tualatin, OR
Handicap
6
You swipe sand away from your ball twice when you are in a waste bunked on accident??? That wasn’t just a few grains of sand, it was clearing out a lane. Knowing the basic rules of golf, even a hack like me is being careful in this situation. I don’t buy it that it was an accident. I don’t like or dislike him really but I can not for one second believe that was unintentional.
 

Leftyuk

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 1, 2018
Messages
696
Reaction score
385
Location
Hanging on in quiet desperation is the English way
Handicap
9
Shame he did not use Elon Musk's lawyer to argue his case, he would have the lead after three days.
 

RNG

Well-known member
Albatross 2020 Club
Joined
Jan 28, 2010
Messages
11,312
Reaction score
35
Location
Emmitsburg, MD
Handicap
10
I’m not sure I understand the rules of a waste bunker. I have not ever played a course that has them. Is it not treated as any other lie on the golf course since it is not technically a bunker? If that’s correct ( I am not sure at all) then why would moving loose sand ( loose impediments) be any different that removing a pine cone that is behind your ball? Confusing for sure but I do agree he should have known the rules what ever they really are!!
 

DataDude

Well-known member
Albatross 2020 Club
Joined
Dec 26, 2017
Messages
6,352
Reaction score
3,238
Location
Louisville, KY
Handicap
14.7
Obviously, he's the only one who knows for sure. But I think he did it on purpose. I bet at least some of his former college teammates do too.
When you're Patrick Reed you don't get the benefit of the doubt. He has to know that.
 

WICHITAREJECT

which ones are the senior tees?
Albatross 2020 Club
Joined
Oct 5, 2017
Messages
1,417
Reaction score
1,059
Location
Overland Park, KS
Handicap
10
I bet he blames his parents and then has them banned from attending future events......
 
  • Like
Reactions: RNG

JonMA1

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 22, 2017
Messages
965
Reaction score
851
Location
Northern Michigan
Handicap
High
I was not a Patrick Reed hater nor did I care about any of the stuff he'd done in the past, but this to me was an obvious cheat.

It's a shame. The guy has enough talent to win on the tour without doing this stuff.
 

Canes

305 Till I Die
Albatross 2020 Club
Joined
Apr 29, 2011
Messages
7,413
Reaction score
534
Location
The U
Handicap
10
 

KEV

Well-known member
Albatross 2020 Club
Joined
Jul 10, 2015
Messages
19,408
Reaction score
4,634
Location
Southeast, SD
Handicap
7.3
I have no idea if the rules are different in a waste bunker but that was total cheating in my mind. There's no way that was done accidently, TWICE!
 

JonMA1

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 22, 2017
Messages
965
Reaction score
851
Location
Northern Michigan
Handicap
High
Haters gonna hate....Meantime the dude has clubs with his name on em....
Or, it has nothing to do with either of those two things. I don't hate my playing partner, in fact he's a good friend. And he doesn't have his name on his bag. But when he fluffs his lie he's cheating. Which is only ok when we're not competing.
 

cbaker2882

Ohio - not as cold, now just wet
Albatross 2020 Club
Joined
Dec 5, 2014
Messages
30,250
Reaction score
3,187
Location
CLE
Handicap
7.4
Yea zero chance he didn’t know what he was doing 100%. How this wasn’t a 4 stroke penalty for doing it twice I’m not sure.
 

GolfTravelDude

Well-known member
Albatross 2020 Club
Joined
Jun 23, 2019
Messages
1,937
Reaction score
1,040
Location
Virginia
Handicap
8
Or, it has nothing to do with either of those two things. I don't hate my playing partner, in fact he's a good friend. And he doesn't have his name on his bag. But when he fluffs his lie he's cheating. Which is only ok when we're not competing.
After he "fluffed his lie" the lie was still horrible. He did it twice....Would one imagine he was so conniving to try twice...or was he of the mind frame that I'm in a waste bunker and I can ground my club....
I'm going with he made a stupid mistake and continued on.
 

JonMA1

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 22, 2017
Messages
965
Reaction score
851
Location
Northern Michigan
Handicap
High
After he "fluffed his lie" the lie was still horrible. He did it twice....Would one imagine he was so conniving to try twice...or was he of the mind frame that I'm in a waste bunker and I can ground my club....
I'm going with he made a stupid mistake and continued on.
That's a reasonable opinion... he's the only one who knows.

But if Tiger or Lexi or anyone - regardless of their popularity - had done the same thing, my opinion would be the same. Got nothing to do with being a hater.
 

Jman

Golfing Equipment Reviewer
Albatross 2020 Club
Staff member
Joined
Jan 20, 2010
Messages
123,051
Reaction score
15,962
Location
Oklahoma
Handicap
6.7
There’s no doubt what he was doing there, what a moronic piece of ****.
 

Phil75070

Well-known member
Albatross 2020 Club
Joined
May 18, 2014
Messages
4,174
Reaction score
702
Location
DFW (McKinney)
Handicap
GHIN 2.7
Waste bunkers are not maintained the same way a sand trap is done. Grounding of the club is allowed but sand is not considered a loose impediment that can be moved. That is the difference between what Reed did and the ruling Cink got. In Cink's case that waste bunker was filled with crushed shells or something which the rules official determined to be loose impediments. Having ruled that way, Cink was allowed to move them as bad as the optics were.
 

GoldenBuff

Pool noodle fencing
Albatross 2020 Club
Joined
Feb 2, 2015
Messages
7,085
Reaction score
4,092
Handicap
8.1
Some are saying he did it to highlight his new clubs. Here’s his new sand wedge.
C7C89BED-CC92-4265-8DF3-09A72B3EBD23.jpeg
 

DG_1234

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 29, 2015
Messages
4,760
Reaction score
1,128
Handicap
2
Waste bunkers are not maintained the same way a sand trap is done. Grounding of the club is allowed but sand is not considered a loose impediment that can be moved. That is the difference between what Reed did and the ruling Cink got. In Cink's case that waste bunker was filled with crushed shells or something which the rules official determined to be loose impediments. Having ruled that way, Cink was allowed to move them as bad as the optics were.
Cink used his finger tip to dig a trench under the ball and improve his lie. At the tee box Cink had asked White about waste bunker Rules. however White beglected to do his job and accompany Cink to the ball. This is the reason White later covered up the Rules violation. Following that debacle, the PGA Tour should have fired Slugger White. But they retained him and (in a bit of irony), White is now the guy assessing Patrick Reed a 2 stroke penalty.
 

Welcome to The Hackers Paradise

Don't just play golf, live it!

Register Log in
Top