Question for Coders from a Hobbiest

wubears71

Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
Handicap
8.1 GHIN
I am a self taught programmer but it's all VB, Fortran and structured text used in process control and automation. However, I am looking to expand my skills by learning python. I have a few questions:
  1. There are several "free" learning sites (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/learn-python as an example). Are they worth using or will I spend 25 hrs on it and come out knowing very little.
  2. Are there other languages I should look at besides python.

I do this more as a hobby than anything and am not looking to become an expert coder.

TIA.

Not sure what all you're looking to mess with and or build, but I would get your head wrapped around Node.js and React if you want to have some fun with java frameworks instead of python. again, depends on what you're looking to get out of it.

Not sure what all you're looking to mess with and or build, but I would get your head wrapped around Node.js and React if you want to have some fun with java frameworks instead of python. again, depends on what you're looking to get out of it.
Nothing in particular yet. I am always just looking to improve my skillset. I would like to learn something that will be a good basis for jumping to other languages.

So my company does custom software dev, the two I mentioned are the flavors that the vast majority of our work is done in. Its a bit cyclic though, a couple of years ago it was Angular.

Nothing in particular yet. I am always just looking to improve my skillset. I would like to learn something that will be a good basis for jumping to other languages.

Python will do the trick. A good way for you to jump in would be to see if you could port some of your prior process control/automation work over to Python.